Wait And Hurry Up

The two months after receiving Five Star’s offer were quite different from the four preceding months. I spent sixteen weeks awaiting word on the fate of my manuscript, and then just seven weeks accepting the offer, signing the contract, and completing the first round of edits.

It has been a wonderful learning experience, particularly with the edits. Alice Duncan, an author of more than forty books and a professional editor, carefully went over All Things Murder and corrected my stupid typos and spelling errors, and made a few suggestions about word usage. Let’s just say I had overused one or two words. More than a few of times. I guess it was a case of not seeing the trees for the forest. But now I’m aware of the habit, and will be more diligent with my future writing, thanks to Alice’s fantastic expertise.

All Things Murder is now in the copyediting stage. A copy editor will go through the manuscript, reviewing for errors and checking for consistency in the story. For example, if a scene starts with a character eating a spaghetti and meatball dinner and ends with the character praising the delicious roast chicken meal, the editor will flag the passage and tell me to get my food groups straight.

I’ll let you know how it goes. Though I’ll tell you now, I have never mistaken poultry for pasta.

This entry was posted in All Things Murder and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

