Give Out The ARC Day

And now for an update on the promotion of All Things Murder.

It’s easy to send an email inquiring if a reviewer or bookstore manager would like an advance copy of All Things Murder. I’ve done plenty of that and have sent out a good number of ARCs to online reviewers and mystery bookstores across the country.  What’s not so easy for me is making a face-to-face request. The reason is one part shyness and one part a fear of rejection. I received so many “no’s” in my quest for publication, that it is still my default expectation. Not good! And silly. Really, it shouldn’t be difficult to walk into a library (repository of thousands of books and workplace of book lovers) or bookstore (again, lots of books and people who love to read them) and show my book.

I’ve made a few trips to my home library with an ARC in my bag, certain I’d give it to one of the kind librarians. Instead, each time I left without saying a word, the ARC still in my bag.

I resolved to overcome my fear this week, taking Friday off from my job and designating it Give Out The ARC Day. I first went to my library. I walked up to the checkout counter with All Things Murder in my hand, introduced myself, and showed the book to the librarian. This nice lady congratulated me, took a good look at the ARC, and sent me to the reference librarian.

Off I went to the reference desk, where two women sat. The woman who said, “May I help you?” turned out to be Nancy, the person responsible for the library’s collection of mysteries. I introduced myself and handed her the ARC. Her reaction left me wondering why I was so nervous about the visit. Nancy was delighted to receive a copy of All Things Murder. She said she would show it to her mystery group (yeah!) and mentioned that I should give a talk to the club(wow!). I left saying to myself, “I love my library!”

I then paid a visit to Barnes & Noble and met with Lisa, the Community Relations Manager. Lisa, like Nancy, was friendly and enthusiastic about All Things Murder. We discussed holding a signing at the store, though no date has been set. We’ll determine that closer to the book’s release.

I stopped at another local library on my way home from Barnes & Noble. Very few butterflies fluttered in my stomach as I walked in and introduced myself. Again, I was greeted by a very pleasant, welcoming librarian. This lovely lady even asked me to sign the ARC. Talk about a great way to end the day.

These great experiences have done much to alleviate my book promotion worries. Perhaps I was a door-to-door encyclopedia saleswoman in my previous life and just needed a jumpstart to get back in selling mode?

On a totally different note – It’s Oscar night! I love the Academy Awards. I’m looking forward to the show, though I haven’t seen any of the movies. Not one. Pitiful, I know. I usually wait until a film is on dvd and then borrow it from my library. But my total cluelessness won’t stop me from making a prediction. I think the acting awards will go to the favorites – Cate Blanchett, Matthew McConaughey, Lupita Nyong’o, and Jared Leto. The surprise will be in the Best Picture category, with American Hustle beating out 12 Years A Slave and Gravity. I could be wrong, but maybe not. We’ll know in a few hours.

Who are your favorites to win tonight? And which of the nominees do you recommend to this clueless bookworm?

This entry was posted in All Things Murder, Promotion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

