The (Sub) Plot Thins

The edit is here! The edit is here!

Yes, the first edit of Murder, by George is here. It arrived in my email inbox last Monday, along with the suggestion that I cut a subplot. Yipes! As editor Gordon Aalborg pointed out, this storyline, which features Veronica’s friend Glen Weber, slows the pace of the overall story and lends nothing to the mystery. So…delete, delete, delete.

I am now eliminating those passages that involve Glen, Veronica, and a house for sale and am adding a scene or two that relate to Veronica’s search for architect Scott Culverson’s killer. Murder, by George will be better for this effort, and I thank Gordon for his excellent insight and guidance.

I’m also experiencing a common lament of writers: I can’t stop tinkering with the manuscript. As I read over the three hundred pages, viewing them in the context of Gordon’s comments and changes, I’m finding a line here, a word there, that seemed perfect months ago and now strike me as all wrong. It’s a good thing next Monday is my deadline, or I’d keep revising until Murder, by George is a Western set in the 1870’s.

That’s what I’ve been doing, thus this short post!

Today we celebrate the life of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. A towering figure in American history, Dr. King was one of the finest leaders this country has ever known. Now, almost forty-seven years after his death, Dr. King’s words and actions still guide and inspire, and indeed carry particular significance in these times of struggle. Let us each take a moment today to reflect on his wisdom  and legacy. And let us strive every day to judge others “not by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.”

Have a terrific week, everyone.

This entry was posted in Edits, Murder By George and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The (Sub) Plot Thins

  1. Sandy Todd says:

    Jeanne, I’m so happy for you that the edit arrived! I’m looking for to reading Murder, By George. But, ya know?…a western set in the 1870’s sounds good to me too.
    Have a beautiful week!
    Sandy in So. Cali

    • Jeanne says:

      Thank you for your support, Sandy. But I don’t know how great an 1870’s Western written by me would be!

      Have a great week. I bet you will have nicer weather in sunny Southern California. Snow is forecast for us on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

