What Day Is It?

The edit of Murder, By George is done! After three weeks of hunkering down over my computer keyboard, I returned the edit to Gordon Aalborg this morning. With this first phase over, I made a cup of tea and fell asleep watching the morning news (I’m already Super Bowl-ed out).

When I awoke, I realized it was February 1. A glance at the calendar informed me it is also National Freedom Day. I Founded by Major Richard Robert Wright Sr., this holiday commemorates the date in 1865 that President Abraham Lincoln signed the Thirteenth Amendment, which abolished slavery. A very good day indeed.

What other holidays do we celebrate in February? We know it is Black History Month and that Valentine’s Day is the fourteenth, but did you know it is also Great American Pie Month, Canned Food Month, and National Children’s Dental Health Month? It’s also National Cherry Month, which goes hand-in-hand with those pies.

Tomorrow is Ground Hog Day, the day when groundhogs are dragged from their burrows and forced to make a weather prediction.

February 4 is Create A Vacuum Day. Would that be the appliance that cleans floors, or a void?

Saturday the seventh is Eat Ice Cream for Breakfast Day. I can do that. And afterwards, I’ll take a walk through the neighborhood and celebrate Wave All Your Fingers at Your Neighbor Day. Remember, ALL your fingers.

And this is just the first week of the month! In February we’ll also celebrate:

Boy Scout Day (8th). Do a little role reversal and help a Boy Scout across the street.

Don’t Cry over Spilled Milk Day (11th). Celebrate optimism today by walking on the sunny side of the street.

Singles Awareness Day (15th). This is for everyone who didn’t get a box of chocolate on the 14th.

Do a Grouch a Favor Day (16th). But what if they don’t appreciate it and hit me?

Random Acts of Kindness Day (17th). This should be every day!

Chinese New Year (19th). Are you a Sheep? It’s your year!

Hoodie Hoo Day (20th). The day to beat the winter doldrums by going outside at noon, waving your hands, and shouting “Hoodie Hoo!” Who would like to go first?

Dogs make out very well this month. There’s Love Your Pet Day (20th), Walking the Dog Day (22nd), and International Dog Biscuit Appreciation Day (23rd). Have fun Nick, Pela, and Starr (my four-legged relatives).

Public Sleeping Day (28th). I’ll celebrate by falling asleep at my office desk. Do you think anyone will mind?

It looks like we have a fun month ahead of us! Enjoy it, everyone!

This entry was posted in February Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Day Is It?

  1. Sandy Todd says:

    Hi Jeanne! So happy for you that your edit is behind you and you sound like you feel real good about it. I can’t wait to read Murder, By George. Any idea of a publication and release date?
    I for one will be participating on the 7th eating a nice bowl of vanilla bean ice cream for breakfast (hey, if I can eat pumpkin pie for breakfast why not ice cream right?!).
    Thanks for the run down on all the celebrations we can take part in this month.
    Sandy in So. Cali

  2. Jeanne says:

    Hi, Sandy! I don’t have the release date yet for Murder, By George. Based on the schedule for All Things Murder, my guess is it will be December or January 2016 (already less than a year away!). I should have the date soon.

    Enjoy the ice cream, and watch out for our first Friday the 13th, aka Blame Someone Else Day!

Leave a Reply

