Summer Reading 2016

independence-day-cap

I hope everyone celebrating this July Fourth weekend is having a happy, fun, and safe weekend!

What’s on your reading list for this summer? Several books have been released this year that I hope to read in the coming weeks; I thought I’d share a few of the titles with you.

Out of the Dying Pan – Since reading last year’s Fillet of Murder, I’ve been eager for Linda Reilly’s followup to the debut of her Deep Fried Mystery series. Set in a seafood restaurant in the heart of the Berkshires, the first cozy left me, a person with an aversion to seafood, tempted to try something fishier than a shrimp cocktail. I’m looking forward to a new adventure with Talia Marby, who, in the first installment, returned to her hometown after leaving her job and boyfriend. Talia took a job in her friend’s fish and chips shop while trying to rebuild her life. When the friend became a murder suspect, Talia set out to solve the case. A multitasker! Out of the Dying Pan promises another mystery that will satisfy cozy readers while also tantalizing our taste buds.

Here Comes the Bribe – Author Mary Daheim’s work has had a huge influence on my writing. I adore her cozy Bed-and-Breakfast series, of which Here Comes the Bribe is the latest installment. It features close-as-sisters cousins Judith McMonigle Flynn and Renie Jones, Seattle-based amateur sleuths who find themselves involved in murder cases that often take zany, ridiculous turns. With many of the murders taking place at Judith’s bed-and-breakfast, it’s a surprise the place hasn’t gone out of business by now. I’m pleased it’s still welcoming guests and plan on checking in soon for another absurd visit to the great Northwest.

Vinegar Girl – Anne Tyler, one of my favorite authors, returns with a contemporary take on a classic. In Vinegar Girl, a part of the Hogarth Shakespeare series, Tyler offers a fresh take on Shakespeare’s comedy, The Taming of the Shrew. With critics describing it as “screwball,” “a fizzy cocktail,” “funny,” and “endearing,” how could anyone go wrong in tucking the book in her beach bag or suitcase? I’m looking forward to Tyler’s version of the Bard’s timeless battle-of-the-sexes.

Everybody’s Fool – I have been a Richard Russo fan since I saw the 1994 film adaptation of his Nobody’s Fool (I wholeheartedly recommend the Robert Benton movie, starring Paul Newman and Jessica Tandy). Russo excels at moving between the present and past to give a complete portrait of a character. He filled Nobody’s Fool with endearing characters surviving in a small upstate New York town that’s seen better days. In Everybody’s Fool, Russo brings readers back to North Bath for a two-day visit that promises to be as warmhearted, insightful, and humane as its predecessor.

The Black Widow – This is the sixteenth book in a series I discovered earlier this year. After reading two books (of course I didn’t start at the beginning!), I’m hooked on Daniel Silva’s series featuring Israeli spy Gabriel Allon. In Silva’s latest offering, Gabriel, a tortured soul with a talent for art restoration, is set to become the father of twins and the chief of Israel’s intelligence service. He’s asked to go into the field one more time to nab a terrorist bad guy. The book hasn’t been released (it comes out July 12), but I already know it will be an absorbing page turner.

Murder, by George – I confess this isn’t on my summer reading list. I’ve already read it several times. I only ask that you read it once (and tell everyone you know to read it, too).

Happy reading. And Happy Independence Day!

Fireworks

This entry was posted in Summer Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

