My Home Away From Home

Tomorrow evening I will meet with the Investigating Mysteries book group at the New City (New York) Free Library. If you’re in the area, please join us to talk about the first Veronica Walsh mystery, All Things Murder.

I’m particularly excited about this visit, for this is my lifelong home library. I have an early memory of sitting on the floor in the library’s children’s section, pulling picture books off the bottom shelf and contentedly thumbing through them. In my grammar school days, the library was located in a small, one-floor building across the street from the school. I recall many afternoons spent there, doing homework, research for a class paper, or simply wandering the aisles, looking at the books. Whether I was working on a science fair project, history paper, or geography report, the library always had what I needed to complete the assignment.

When I was in the eighth grade, the library relocated to its current home farther north on Main Street. On my first visit, I was awestruck by the size, more than triple in space than its former home, with thousands of books filling shelves across three floors. It was spectacular, though I have to admit I missed the cozy little library across from school. Whenever I pass the building, now a plastic surgery center, I remember my after-school visits and the place that helped me become the person I am today.

Thanks to a dedicated, talented staff, the New City library continues to serve our community very well. From stocking the latest bestsellers and new DVDs, providing free tax help to senior citizens, serving as a gallery for local artists, and offering programs on everything from genealogy to chair yoga, the library nurtures residents, both those who are just starting to read and those who have been doing it for decades.

Have a great week, everyone, and remember, if you live near the New City library, come investigate a mystery with us tomorrow night!

 

 

This entry was posted in All Things Murder, Appearances and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

