Veronica Returns

Summer greetings! It’s been a while since I’ve delivered a decent post; I apologize for my absence.

I’ve been busy the last few months finishing the third Veronica Walsh Mystery and searching for a new publishing home for the series (you might remember my January 2016  post announcing Five Star’s decision to end its mystery line). I’ve had terrific literary agent Jill Marsal leading the quest. Jill told me upfront how difficult it is to move a series to a new publisher and the outcome has proven her correct. Despite a tremendous effort, we’ve been unable to relocate Veronica and her friends.

This doesn’t mean the end for Veronica Walsh, my favorite fictional soap opera actress, boutique owner, and occasional amateur sleuth. I’m having too much fun writing Veronica’s adventures to stop. And I know a few of you enjoy reading those adventures.

So I’ll be self-publishing this third book, Cast for Murder. The manuscript is now in the hands of editor Bethany Blair and I will soon choose a designer to create a beautiful cover for the cozy mystery. I’m aiming for a late January/early February release in paperback and e-book formats.

You’ve probably deduced from the title that the storyline involves a performance. Here’s a peek at the third installment of the series:

Retired soap opera star Veronica Walsh makes her acting return in a community theater production of Blithe Spirit. Veronica is a happy boutique owner by day and actress by night in her Adirondack hometown, but soon must again assume the role of amateur sleuth when she finds the play’s director shot dead behind the theater. Teaming with stage-manager-turned-director Sophie Morrissey, Veronica’s hunt for clues to the murder of Gigi Swanson leads her to a cast of behind-the-scenes characters: Gigi’s rich husband who’s pursuing a political career, her partner in an interior design business, an event planner harboring a secret, and an embezzler with anger-management issues. A stunning Act Three conclusion leaves Veronica wondering if her acting comeback was such a great idea.

I’ll keep you updated on the progress of Cast for Murder in the coming weeks and months. Winter 2018 seems far away during these days of humidity and sunburn, but time flies when you have much work to get done.

I hope you’ve all had a great summer and are enjoying its final days. Have a terrific week, everyone!

This entry was posted in Cast for Murder, Self-publishing, Veronica Walsh series and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Veronica Returns

  1. Doward says:

    It is so exciting to know that another book is coming. I can’t wait to read it. It is such a wonderfully unique series.

Leave a Reply

